Livraison gratuite pour toutes les commandes de plus de 50 $

  • LES SIROPS
  • /
  • MARIAGE / CORPO
  • /
  • PROMO
  • /
  • TRIO DÉCOUVERTE
  • /
  • AUTRES PRODUITS

Sirop de merisier

CANADA CAT.A - AMBER RICH TASTE

Unmixed - Single Forest - Produced by Martin Malenfant

From the first week of harvest, golden and clear, this syrup is delicate, velvety and silky. With light accents of caramel, honeysuckle and cinnamon. All in subtlety.

$25.95 CAD

Size
OTHER CROPS:

Le merisier (bouleau jaune), un des emblèmes du Québec, est un arbre que l’on retrouve principalement dans les forêts québécoises matures (centenaires). Unique et rare, le sirop de merisier est un sirop naturel produit à partir de la sève récoltée au printemps. Issu d’un long et délicat processus de concentration des sucres par la chaleur, 160 litres de sève de merisier sont nécessaires pour produire un seul litre de sirop de merisier, ce qui en fait un produit rare et exceptionnel dont la production est limitée à 1500 livres par année.

Érablière Escuminac exploite l’une des plus belles forêts de bouleau jaune centenaire, communément appelé merisier au Québec. La transformation de la sève en sirop est extrêmement délicate, mais heureusement l’imposant bagage technique de Martin Malenfant lui a permis de développer une méthode stable, au rendement supérieur, pour faire bouillir ce nectar précieux sans débordement ni caramélisation.

Ce sirop, est un pur nectar très tendance dans les cuisines des grands chefs, se distinguant par son goût unique et savoureux ainsi que par sa polyvalence, pouvant même être substitué au vinaigre balsamique très âgé. Un équilibre parfait entre l’acidité et le sucre, il est enveloppant, riche et onctueux. Il peut être utilisé dans tousles plats, de l’entrée au dessert en passant par le mets principal, les accompagnements, et même dans les cocktails. Au goût prononcé, une petite quantité suffit pour une explosion maximale de saveurs, ce qui en fait un produit haut de gamme accessible et rare.

On confère également au merisier plusieurs propriétés et vertus en raison de ses composantes bénéfiques: vitamines, minéraux, acides aminés, protéines.

Un nectar produit en très petite quantité, qui devait être jadis, le vinaigre balsamique des amérindiens!

Sirop de merisier vs sirop de bouleau

Rare et recherché, il ne faut surtout pas confondre le sirop de merisier (bouleau jaune / yellow birch) avec le sirop de bouleau (bouleau blanc / birch),qui est un sirop plus commun et beaucoup moins complexe que le sirop de merisier. On parlera alors de bouleau blanc et non de bouleau jaune (merisier), deux arbres totalement distincts. La confusion vient certainement de l’appellation de l’arbre, pourtant en forêt les deux essences sont complètement distinctes.

French
French

[[recommendation]]

French

• LES SIROPS
  • /
  • MARIAGE / CORPO
  • /
  • PROMO
  • /
  • TRIO DÉCOUVERTE
  • /
  • AUTRES PRODUITS

Yellow birch syrup

CANADA CAT.A - AMBER RICH TASTE

Unmixed - Single Forest - Produced by Martin Malenfant

From the first week of harvest, golden and clear, this syrup is delicate, velvety and silky. With light accents of caramel, honeysuckle and cinnamon. All in subtlety.

$25.95 CAD

Size
OTHER CROPS:
The birch (Yellow Birch), which is an emblem of Quebec, is a tree which is mainly found in mature, centuries-old Quebec forests. Unique and rare, birch syrup is a natural syrup produced from the sap harvested in spring. After a long, delicate process of sugar concentration with heat, it takes 160 liters of birch sap to produce a single liter of birch syrup. The total production is limited to 1,500 pounds a year.

Érablière Escuminac harvests from one of the most beautiful century-old yellow birch forests, traditionally called cherrywood in Québec. The conversion of sap to syrup is extremely delicate, but thankfully Martin Malenfant’s formidable technical knowledge allowed him to develop a stable high-performing method, to bring this precious nectar to a boil without overflow or caramelization.  

This syrup is a pure nectar, and very fashionable in great chefs’ kitchens, where birch syrup (yellow birch) stands out because of its unique and delicious taste and its versatility. It can be used instead of very aged balsamic vinegar. A perfect balance of acidity and sugar, it is embracing, rich and smooth. It can be used in any dish, from starter to dessert via the main course, side dishes, and even cocktails. With its strong flavour, a small quantity is enough to set off an intense explosion of flavours, which makes this an accessible yet rare luxury product.

It is also said to have many properties and virtues as a result of its beneficial elements: vitamins, minerals, amino acids, proteins.

A NECTAR PRODUCED IN VERY SMALL QUANTITIES, WHICH MUST UNDOUBTEDLY HAVE BEEN THE BALSAMIC VINEGAR OF THE NATIVE AMERICANS IN THE PAST!

 

Yellow birch syrup vs Birch syrup

Rare and sought out, there must be a distinction made between yellow birch syrup and birch syrup, that is a more common and much less complex syrup than the yellow birch syrup.

We will therefore speak of white birch and not yellow birch, two totally distinct trees. The confusion certainly has roots in the tree name, since in the forest both species are distinct. The yellow birch is a big tree which is mainly found in mature, centuries-old forests, while the white birch mainly grows in transitional forests. The bark of the white birch is white, as the name suggests, while that of the yellow birch is golden and changes over the years. On the young tree the bark is smooth, becoming rougher and darker as it ages.

English
English

[[recommendation]]

English